多年來,我聽到善意的基督徒提出各種理由,說明為什麼他們需要在事奉方面長時間休息或根本無法事奉。 當聽到這樣的事情時,我們會同情他們,因為對於許多人來說,我們也曾經經歷過。 最後,每個人都必須做出自己的決定,但他或她應該以什麼為基礎來作決定? 作為基督徒,我們轉向聖經,因為神的話語在所有有關信仰和行為方面是我們的最高權威。 我們必須捫心自問,聖經對事奉倦怠,事奉方面長期休息或根本不事奉有什麼看法? 在我們與上述問題搏鬥時,我想與你分享兩件事。

1.  我記不起聖經有任何經文允許上帝的子民長期休息或免於事奉地方教會。如果有,我只能找到最接近的是來自申命記20:7, 24:5,它允許新婚的以色列男性免於義務兵役和/或公共服務一年。我在這裡看到兩件事。首先,軍隊的豁免是為了消除新婚丈夫在婚後不久死於戰爭的可能性。其次,本段的背景涉及強制性的公共服務職責。在美國大多數地方教會事工中,這比喻並不適用。對我們大多數人來說,事奉並不意味著把自己置於身體死亡的位置。此外,對於我們大多數人來說,事奉不是強制性的,而是自願性的。也許我不知道還有沒有另一個相關的段落,但至少這段經文似乎並沒有讓上帝的子民接受長期休息或豁免事奉。

2.  聖經似乎拒絕所有的藉口。 例如,在路加福音14:12-24 中,耶穌使用大宴席的比喻未說明他不會接受任何不跟隨他的藉口。 如果你因為 “藉口” 這個詞而感到生氣,那麼讓我提醒你,耶穌從第18節開始用 “但他們都一樣找藉口。” 容許我冒昧地將這三個藉口現代化。

a.  第18節 – 我不能,因為我剛買了一個不動產(地)
b.  第19節 – 我不能因為我太忙於工作(牛)
c.  第20節 – 我不能因為我的家人需要我(新婚)

耶穌甚至沒有假裝同情他們,頓時以最嚴厲後果來拒絕我們可能認為合理的藉口(第24節)。 在路加福音9:57-62中,耶穌同樣拒絕了另外兩個藉口, 第59節 “主啊,讓我先去埋葬我父親” 和第61節的“但我先回去向家人告別。”

回到路加福音14:25-33,耶穌教導我們要數算跟隨他的高昂代價。

a.  第26節 – 我們必須把耶穌放於所有其他關係之上(勝過父親,母親,妻子,孩子,兄弟,姐妹和自己)
b.  第27節 – 願意受苦,甚至是倦怠(背起自己的十字架)

門徒訓練的要求是否過於艱難?如果是這樣,誰告訴你,門徒訓練是輕鬆和舒適的?經上耶穌說的是完全相反。如果你是基督的跟隨者,這就是你致力跟隨耶穌時與他所達成的協議。你後悔自己的決定了嗎?我希望沒有。讓我鼓勵你,作為基督的門徒,我們不會逃避跟隨耶穌的苦難,反而要擁抱苦難,因為上帝利用這些苦難使來我們成熟,更像祂的兒子。當事情變得艱難時,我們中有多少人是沒有直接向耶穌表達,反而是通過我們的行為間接地告訴耶穌 “你的要求實在太多因而我要放棄。” 門徒訓練或跟隨耶穌並不是我們生活中額外做的事情,而是一種生活方式。我們不能因為_____________ (這空白位由你來填寫) 而暫停我們門徒的生活方式。你越早開始過着忠誠基督徒的生活方式越好。

在華人浸信會,我們有很多機會在有意義的事工中事奉。 在大教會的事奉機會有限,但如果你願意, 每個人都可以在小教會事奉(只需與你的小教會牧羊人聯繋)。 在華浸,每個會友的目標是要成為一個小教會的牧羊人,但即使你還不是牧羊人,你仍然可以成為小教會的成員並在當中事奉。 在華浸,每個會友都可以事奉,這意味著任何藉口在此都不用。

那麼讓我再問一次這個問題。 我們應該因為______________在事奉方面長時間休息嗎? 你可以自己回答這個問題。

崇拜時間

主日崇拜時間

星期日:
上午 9:30 - 第一堂崇拜 (英語)
上午 11:00 - 第二堂崇拜 (廣東話--設有普通話/國語傳譯)

地點

206-725-6363
5801 Beacon Ave S, Seattle WA 98108
office@seattlecbc.org

牧者的話

Over the years, I’ve heard well-meaning Christians give all kinds of reasons why they need to take extended ministry breaks or can’t serve at all.  If you are going through some extenuating life circumstances, please note that this post may or may not be applicable to you. That being said, when we hear something like this, we empathize with them because for many of us we’ve been there.  In the end, each individual has to make his or her own decisions, but on what basis should he or she make that decision?  As Christians, we turn to the Bible because God’s Word is our supreme authority in all matters of faith and conduct.  We have to ask ourselves, what does the Scriptures have to say about ministry burnouts, long ministry breaks, or not serving at all?  There are two things I would like to share with you as we wrestle with the above question.

1. I can’t recall any Scriptural passages giving God’s people permission to take long ministry breaks or exemption from serving the local church.  If there was one, the closest one I can find comes from Deuteronomy 20:7, 24:5 that grants newly married Israelite males one year exemption from compulsory military service and/or public service.  Two things I see here. First, the exemption from the army was to eliminate the possibility of the new husband dying in battle soon after marriage. Second, the context of this passage deals with compulsory public service duties.  In most local church ministries in the USA, the analogies breaks down and neither applies.  For most of us, doing ministry does not mean putting ourselves in positions where we can physically die.  Also, for most of us, ministry duties are not compulsory but voluntary.  Maybe I’m not aware of another pertinent passage, but at least this passage does not seem to give God’s people permission to take extended ministry breaks or exemptions from serving.

2. Scripture seems to reject all excuses.  For instance, in Luke 14:12-24, Jesus uses the Great Banquet Parable to basically say that He will not accept any excuses for not following Him.  If you are offended by my use of the word “excuses,” let me remind you that Jesus starts off verse 18 with the words “But they all alike began to make excuses.”  If I may take the liberty to modernize the three excuses.

a. verse 18 – I can’t because I just bought a real property (field)
b. verse 19 -I can’t because I’m too busy at work (oxen)
c. verse 20 -I can’t because my family needs me (newly married)

Jesus does not even pretend to empathize with them, but flat out rejects what may seem to us as reasonable excuses in the harshest terms (v24).  These are not my words but the very words of Jesus.  I want you to read it for yourself.  Read the surrounding passages or better yet read the entire Gospel of Luke.  In Luke 9:57-62, Jesus likewise rejects two other excuses in verse 59 “Lord, let me first go and bury my father” and verse 61 “but let me first say farewell to those at my home.”

Circling back to Luke 14:25-33, Jesus teaches us to count the high cost of following Him.

a. verse 26 – we must put Jesus above all other relationships (hate father, mother, wife, children, brothers, sisters, and self)
b. verse 27 – willing to suffer and yes even burnouts (bear our own cross)

Does the demands of discipleship seem too hard and difficult?  Who told you that discipleship was going to be easy and comfortable?  Jesus said the exact opposite.  If you are a Christ follower, this is the agreement you made with Jesus when you committed to follow Him.  Do you regret your decision?  I hope not.  Let me encourage you that as Christ followers, we don’t run away from sufferings that come with following Jesus (not talking about all sufferings), but we embrace sufferings because God uses our sufferings for Him to mature us and others to be more like His Son.  Discipleship or following Jesus is not an additional thing we do in our lives but it’s a lifestyle.  The sooner you can start the lifestyle of a committed Christ follower the better.

Let me end by saying that the Christ follower lifestyle must not be confused with legalism.  Legalism at its core wrongly assumes that doing stuff for God gains special favor from God.  Legalism is the burdensome yoke of the Pharisees that Jesus condemned (Matthew 11:28-30). Let me reassure you that if you are a Christian, you have already received the maximum unmerited favor from God in Christ Jesus.  For those of us who are married, hopefully we serve our spouses not because we want them to love us more but rather because he/she already loves us. The dishes still needs to be washed, lawn still needs to mowed, and many other chores still needs to be done, but somehow being loved and loving back makes the yoke lighter.  Likewise, Christ followers live the disciple lifestyle because God already loves us.  Just for added emphasis, let me be bold and say that if you decide to not to serve God, He will still love you but at the same time if you love Him, you will do what He commanded (John 14:15).  This is the tension we all have to reconcile in our faith walk.

Service Times

Service Times

Sunday:
9:30am - 1st Service (English)
11:00am - 2nd Service (Cantonese with Mandarin Translation)

Location

206-725-6363
5801 Beacon Ave S, Seattle WA 98108
office@seattlecbc.org

Pastor's Blog

CBC Journey

To my CBC family, I would like to thank you all for sticking with CBC all these years and bringing ...
Read More

Primacy of the Local Church

Let me start off by saying, I believe in the universal church and the local church.  Let me explain.  The ...
Read More

Spiritual Poison

God has blessed us with many helpful technology such as smart phones, tablets, computers, social media (eg. Facebook, Twitter) and ...
Read More

Disciple Lifestyle

Over the years, I've heard well-meaning Christians give all kinds of reasons why they need to take extended ministry breaks ...
Read More

CBC Small Church

Twenty-two of our CBC brothers and sisters attended the Houston House Church (at CBC a.k.a Small Church) Seminar for Lay ...
Read More